Denbigh and Ruthin & Pwllglas Club Golf Action

THE Match and Handicap Chairman, who is a volunteer position, does an amazing job at Denbigh Golf Club.

Don Walmsley, a retired naval engineer, oversees more competitions than any other club in the region.

Besides being a competitor, he produces all the results in the most efficient way, organizes the knockout competitions and answers a series of rules questions that arise regularly.

There are undoubtedly a host of other unsung heroes among the City’s club and amateur sport spectrum and competitors are always, regardless of club, indebted and grateful for their hard work and help.

Arwel Wyn Jones won the second monthly medal competition of the year with a clean round of 65, one stroke ahead of Kyle Morris and Geraint Williams, first and second in the bronze division.

Peris Jones, another shot back, topped the Silver Division, ahead of Darren Foulkes (68 net).

LILY: So much success for Denbigh golfers to celebrate

Other results:

Stableford (April 28): Winner, Roger E Jones 43pts. Silver: 1, Paul Mazurek (16) 43; 2, Andrew Whitton (14) 40. Bronze: 1, Deiniol Jones (20) 43; 2, Gwilym Pierce (20) 42.

May Day Holiday Stableford: Winner, Tom Wilcox Jones (27) 42pts. Silver: 1, Nigel Roxburgh (7) 40; 2, Arthur Jones (10) 39; 3, Andrew O’Loughlin (9) 37. Bronze: 1, Desmond Davies (21) 41; 2, Gethin Edwards (18) 41; 3, Nathan Shake (22) 38.

Ladies results:

Australian spoons: 1, Ceri Parry and Steph Brooks 38 pts; 2, Elinor O-Frimpong & Pauline Evans 34; 3, Jean Gwynn and Chris Jones 34.

May Day Mixed-Waltz: 1, Les & Ellie Wilde, Paul Roberts and Abigail W Jones 85pts; 2, Sam & Eleanor O-Frimpong, Ken Jones and Sue Baggaley 81; 3, Alan and Stephanie Brooks, Roy Tickle and Tracey Ellis 81.

Meanwhile, the first major competition of the new season took place at Ruthin Pwllglas Golf Club.

The Hill Cup Bogey competition took place over the weekend, with 65 players taking part.

Phil Tyrer emerged victorious with an excellent bogey score of +5.

The Division One category winner was Geoffrey Hinchcliffe, with his score of +3, the same score as runner-up Catherine Parton, with Gareth Humphreys (+2) third in the division.

In Division Two, the category winner is Neil Ll Roberts (+4), ahead of Joe Jones (+4) and Phil Corbett (+3).

Comments are closed.